Phases of Learning

​The core business of Southern Cross Catholic College is learning. We aim to empower our learners to shape, change and enrich our world and give witness to the Gospel message. The College strives to provide all students with a seamless and coherent program of learning from Prep to Year 12. Such a curriculum builds on students' prior knowledge and experiences, becomes increasingly more complex and abstract, and provides authentic contexts for learning as students journey through their schooling. 

The curriculum is future-focused, attentive to the needs of today's youth and their world and has been divided into four phases of learning:

  • ​Early Years (Prep - Year 2)
  • Junior Years (Years 3-6)
  • Middle Years (Years 7-10)
  • Senior Years (Years 11​-12)


© Brisbane Catholic Education, Southern Cross Catholic College, 2022